Kenya Golf Guide

Lucas Maranga, a member of Limuru Country Club (left) take over the Shields from outgoing chairman Richard Wanjala during the Kenya Golf Union (KGU) AGM held at Muthaiga Golf Club.


Youthful Lucas Maranga a member of Limuru Country Club, is the new Kenya Golf Union (KGU) Chairman.
He takes over from Kitale based Richard Wanjala whose one year term ended over the weekend in a chaotic elections held at Muthaiga Golf Club.

Anthony Murage from Karen Country club was duly nominated as the vice chairman replacing Maranga who was elevated to chair the union.

Other newly nominated officials include Ben Omuodo (Secretary), and Peter Kiguru(Treasurer).

Six Executive officials who were nominated out of a pool of seven members are led by Thika Sport club based Ndiga Kithae who received the highest number of votes, 56.

Other members are vibrant golf columnist Vincent Wang’ombe, George Gathu, Philip Ochola, Njani Ndiritu, and Peter Kimani Ndung’u. Steve Rukwaro did not make the cut.

Addressing jovial members after being declared the new boss, the new chairman thanked the Kenya golfing fraternity and the KGU directors for bestowing their trust on him to take charge of the Union.

He thanked the past chairmen who had served before him for making the sport vibrant and taking it to another level.Further,he noted with pride that he will endeavor to strengthen the working relationship with the Government and ensure Junior golf foundation is enhanced.

Maranga challenged Universities to come on board adding that the levels of golf worldwide was dwindling. He noted that stakeholders must pull in one direction and ensure the sport is accessible by all age groups.

The Union in its endeavor to advance,promote and safeguard the interest of the game proposed to amend clause 13.3 of its constitution where the Executive committee is given mandate to co-opt
any person to fill any vacancy that may occur between the Annual General Meeting (AGM). The committee can also co-opt up to four additional members to serve on the Executive committee until the next AGM.

The new team at a glance:
Chairman- Lucas Maranga
Vice Chairman-Anthony Murage
Honorary Secretary-Ben Omuodo
Honorary Treasurer-Peter Kiguru
Executive committee members(six):
-Ndiga Kithae
-Vincent Wang’ombe
-George Gathu
-Philip Ochola
-Njani Ndiritu
-Peter Kimani Ndung’u pandora charms pandora charms

Comments are closed.

 canada goose sale