Kenya Golf Guide

Sports Cabinet Secretary Hassan Wario (centre) hands over the national flag to Kenya Golf Union (KGU) chairman Francis Okwara at his offices today.


The Kenya National Golf Team to Zone VI, this afternoon received the national flag from Cabinet secretary in charge of Sports, Culture & Arts  Dr. Hassan Wario at a function held in his office.

The CS wished the team well and acknowledged the work done by Kenya Golf Union in promoting the Sport. He further noted the efforts made by the Union in demystifying the game and promised to convene a meeting soon where the issue of Kasarani Public golf Course will be addressed.

The CS noted that his Ministry is working on establishing sports lottery that will go a long way in supporting sports in the Country. Already there is a team working on laying a platform for the same. He said that sports federations will benefit immensely through the Sports Act and noted that with the recent appointment of Sports Registrar all sports federations needs to register by 2nd of August 2014.

On his part the Chairman of Kenya Golf Union, Mr. Francis Okwara thanked the CS for affording time to meet the team. The Chairman spelt out the progress made by the Union in aligning the activities of the Union to the Sports Act. The KGU boss noted that the selection of the National Team was done in line with the recommendations of NOC- Kenya where all players representing the country in whichever discipline must have a qualifying event.

The Chairman of the Union exuded confidence with the team selected and noted that it is a combination of juniors and seniors.

The team leaves for South Africa on 13th April 2014 and will be participating in Africa Zone VI Championship in Devonvale Golf and Wine Estate, Stellenbosch, Boland, Cape Province.

The National Team to AFRICA ZONE VI 2014 will be led by Head of Delegation Mr. Francis Okwara- Chairman, Mr. Peter Warui -Tournament Director, Andrew Chelogoi (Team Manager) and will be accompanied by the team coach Mr. Anil Shah ;-

It will consist of the following:

1.       Mr. Nelson Simwa- Vet Lab

2.       Mr. Justus Madoya – GRV

3.       Mr. Tony Omuli- Golf Park

4.       Mr. Erick Ooko- Royal

5.       Mr. Mohit Mediratta ( South Africa based)- Sigona

6.       Mr. Daniel Nduva ( Nyali- Junior)

7.       Mr. Mathew Wahome- (Nyali- Junior)

8.       Mr. Adel Balala- (South Africa based & Nyali- Junior) nike air max junior nike air max junior

Comments are closed.

 canada goose sale