Kenya Golf Guide

Duncan Stewart of Turnhouse Golf Club in Scotland plays a round today to feel the Karen Course before the Open begins.

The long wait is over. Formalities of the past few days are also complete and its all systems go as golfers tee off for the Barclays Kenya Open 2015 championship at the par 70 Karen Country Club. Half the field will tee off from the first tee and the rest from the tenth.
The course has been a beehive of activities over the past few days following two Pro Ams which took place on Tuesday and Wednesday.
The two ProAms handed the players a feel of the course that has once again regained its emerald state over the past few days of heavy rains.
Today, the European Challenge Tour office at Karen announced the withdrawal of 12 pros from Europe who didn’t make it due to personal reasons.
“They couldn’t make it for personal reasons,” said the official.
Among the big names to pull out are Thomas Linard who is attached to Bourges club in France. Linard had been invited to the event as one of the winners of a round in the Challenge Tour in the 2014/2015. As a result the Challenge Tour has invited some players from Europe to fill the void left behind by the 12. Among the invites include Harry Casey attached to the Enfield GC in England and his compatriot Jack Harrison of Wildwood GC.
The withdrawals also mean that Kenya will have more slots with Jacob Okello also making the pros team.
Six amateurs in the Kenya team are John Karichu, Nelson Simwa, Robinson Owiti, Boniface Koskei, Mathew Nandwa, Hesbon Wahome.
BKO continues to attract players from around the globe, with competitors coming from the East Africa region, Africa, Europe, the Americas and Asia. There will be 156 players as usual of which 106 will be selected from the European Challenge Tour ranking with some possible wild cards included.
This year’s prize money remains €200,000 Euros, making Barclays Kenya Open one of the richest tournaments on the Challenge Tour. The winner will receive €32,000. This money is raised mostly from the local corporate base.
One change this year is that the club has reshaped and replanted two greens – no’s 2 and 11. By and large the attractions will remain the same. However, there will be an enhanced evening programme for spectators on the Friday and Saturday in the tournament village that will be set up on the Karen driving range, said Tournament Director Patrick Obath.
Tickets will cost as follows Ksh 500= per day and Ksh 1000/= for a season ticket. They will initially be available at the KGU offices but will be available online three weeks from the tournament start date.
The companies that have come in to support the event by sponsorship include Coca Cola, with their COKE brand, Transcentury, Safaricom, Kenya Breweries Limited, DSTV, Nation Media Group and Hemingway’s, the hotel for the officials.

Past Kenya Open Winners:

2014 Mar 06: The Barclays Kenya Open Karen CC: Jake Roos

2013 Feb 14 The Barclays Kenya Open 2013 Karen CC: Jordi GARCIA PINTO

2012 Mar 29 The Barclays Kenya Open Muthaiga GC: Seve BENSON

2011 Mar 31 Barclays Kenya Open Muthaiga GC: Michiel BOTHMA

2010 Mar 25 Kenya Open Muthaiga GC: Robert DINWIDDIE

2009 Apr 16 Tusker Kenya Open 2009 Muthaiga GC: Gary BOYD

2008 Mar 06 Tusker Kenya Open Karen CC: Iain PYMAN

2007 Mar 08 Tusker Kenya Open Karen CC: Edoardo MOLINARI

2006 Mar 09 Tusker Kenya Open Karen Golf Club: Johan AXGREN

2005 Mar 10 Tusker Kenya Open Karen CC: Daniel VANCSIK

2004 Mar 18 Kenya Open Karen Golf Club: Marc CAYEUX

2002 Feb 28 Sameer Kenya Open Muthaiga GC: Lee S JAMES

Kenyan professionals:
1. Dismas Indiza (Mumias)
2. Mathew Omondi (Sigona)
3. David Opati (Windsor)
4. Greg Snow (Royal)
5. David Wakhu (Royal)
6. CJ Wangai (Sigona)
7. David Odhiambo (Nyanza GC)
8. Brian Njoroge (Vetlab)
9. Riz Charania (Windsor)
10. Nicholas Rokoine (Muthaiga)
11. Simon Ngige (Thika)
12. Kopan Timbe (Nyali GCC)
13. Eric Ooko (Royal)
14. Njuguna Ngugi (Railways)
15. Anil Ashok Shah (Muthaiga)
16. Boniface Simwa (Eldoret)
17. Frank Matilo (Muthaiga)
18. Richard Ainley (Nakuru)
19. Joseph W. Karanja (Golf Park)
20. Stefan Engell Andersen (Serengeti Golf Estate)
21. Tony Omuli (Golf Park)
22. Sulivan Muthugia (Nanyuki)
23. James Lorum (Nakuru GC)
24. Ajay Shah (GRVL & Golf Resort)
25. James Karanja Muigai (Limuru)
26. Nelson Mudanyi (Muthaiga)
27. Hesbon Kutwa (Royal)
28. Ken Abuto (Royal)
29. Jacob Okello (The Golf Park)

1. John Karichu (Limuru)
2. Nelson Simwa (Vet Lab)
3. Robinson Owiti (Vet Lab)
4. Boniface Koskei
5. Mathew Wahome
6. Alfred Nandwa shoeoutletssale shoeoutletssale

Comments are closed.

 canada goose sale