Kenya Golf Guide

KGU chairman Frank Okwara (right) has a chart with President Uhuru Kenyatta during the Kenya Open Golf Championship. Okwara named the national team to represent Kenya at Zone VI next month.


Kenya Golf Union today named the team that will represent Kenya in the forthcoming AFRICA ZONE VI 2014 Event to be held from 14th to 17th April in Denonvale Golf   Club in South Africa.

While announcing the team the Chairman, Kenya Golf Union, Mr. Frank Okwara noted that that the team is comprised of a mix between juniors and senior players. The chairman said that by selecting juniors, it is a bold move and one of the steps aimed to preparing an Olympic squad in 2016.

The Zone VI event remains one of the most prestigious golf competitions in Africa. It was first played In Gaborone in February 1982 between countries in Africa Zone VI region. Competing countries include Zimbabwe, Zambia, Botswana, Swaziland, Malawi, Lesotho, Mozambique, and Namibia. South Africa were allowed to play Zone VI in 1993 In Namibia but in 1994 had to wait until the elections were done but later participated Kenya in 1995. The format involves 4 rounds of golf with singles, foursomes, four ball better ball and final singles. Each country has eight players and a reserve.

Last year Kenya finished in 4th  after South Africa, Namibia and Zimbabwe.

The Team to AFRICA ZONE VI 2014 will be led by Head of Delegation Mr. Francis Okwara- Chairman, Mr. Peter Warui -Tournament Director, Andrew Chelogoi (Team Manager) and will be accompanied by the team coach Mr. Anil Shah

It will consist of the following:

1.      Mr. Nelson Simwa- Vet Lab

2.      Mr. Jay Sandhu – Royal

3.      Mr. Justus Madoya – GRV

4.      Mr. Tony Omuli- Golf Park

5.      Mr. Erick Ooko- Royal

6.      Mr. Mohit Mediratta (Already has a South Africa)- Sigona

7.      Mr. Daniel Nduva ( Nyali- Junior)

8.      Mr. Mathew Wahome- (Nyali- Junior)

9.      Mr. Adel Balala- (Nyali- Junior) cheap air max 95 cheap air max 95

Comments are closed.

 canada goose sale