Kenya Golf Guide

Royal’s Hellen Gatirimu awards Naomi Wafula during the JGF awards ceremony last year.


The All Africa Challenge Trophy (AACT) a biennial continental ladies golf championship returns to Muthaiga Golf Club in June 2014 after two decades.
Announcing the venue, the chairman of the AACT Organising Committee, Dorcas Mbalanya who is also the past chairman of the Kenya Ladies Golf Union (KLGU) said “We are delighted that Muthaiga has agreed to host this prestigious event once again. We must show off our country’s
best golfing facilities and the golf course is championship standard.”
Muthaiga will also host the second fundraiser golf tournament on 28 March 2014, as the KLGU engages in active fundraising to pay the hosting costs. Vet Lab was the first of four fundraising golf events to take place before June.
“Hosting an event of this magnititude requires funding from all our friends and we are encouraged with the support we have received todate from the golfing community in the country”, Ms Mbalanya said.
The All Africa Challenge Trophy will bring together the best lady amateur golfers on the continent. Each country is represented by three players and a non-playing captain. Using Eishenhower scoring, the best two scores per round count towards the daily team score in the 54-hole strokeplay format.
Supported by the Royal and Ancient Club of St Andrew’s (R&A), at least 21 teams are expected on 7 June, with the first round to be played on Tuesday, 10 June to Thursday, 12 June 2014. The AACT will be followed by the Kenya Ladies Open Amateur Strokeplay championship, a 54 hole medal at Royal Nairobi on 14 and 15 June.
Following the inaugural event in 1992 at Chapman Golf Club, Harare, Zimbabwe, the event has been to all corners of Africa – South Africa, Ivory Coast, Nigeria, Egypt, Namibia, Botswana, Zambia and Namibia.
And over the years, the AACT has grown in stature – from 12 teams to 24 teams in Botswana in 2012, thanks to the improvement in the standard of the game in Africa.
South Africa has dominated over the years – with the exception of 2006 when the team trophy was awarded to Egypt – and will travel to Kenya as the defending champions. The winner of the Best Junior player in Botswana was Kenya’s Naomi Wafula whilst her mentor, Kenya’s Rose Naliaka won the individual trophy in 2002. The Kenya ladies national team are the holders of the Gilberson & Page trophy, a triangular test match between Kenya, Zambia and Zimbabwe that was last played in Nairobi in 2013.

Invitations to this year’s All Africa Challenge Trophy have been extended to Angola, Benin, Botswana, Cote d’Ivoire, Egypt, Gabon, Ghana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Morocco, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Reunion, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Gambia, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Closing date for entries is 28 March but confirmation has already been received from nine countries – Botswana, Gabon, Mauritius, Reunion, Rwanda, South Africa, Uganda, Tanzania and hosts Kenya. nike air max womens nike air max womens

Comments are closed.

 canada goose sale