Kenya Golf Guide

Sigona and Muthaiga team members pose for a joint photo with the trophy after winning this year’s Tannahill Shield at the Royal Club.


Champions Muthaiga had a scare of their lives, but recovered to share the 90th Tannahill Shield title with Sigona after the final round of this year’s tournament at the par 72 Royal Nairobi Golf Club yesterday.

Muthaiga who has dominated the tournament for the last 10 years, winning eight times out of a possible 10, were initially tipped to continue their dominance this year, but things turned out different and their dominance was almost checked as a late rally saw them save their blushes after a false start that saw them finish bottom on the first day.

Sigona and Muthaiga tied on a total of 42 points to lay their hands on the prestigious trophy in Kenya’s biggest Inter-Club showdown, referred to the Ryder Cup.
For Muthaiga, it was a fifth successive win to add to their previous dominance in the tournament, but in the last decade they have never had such a scare.
Sigona, on the other hand, wins the Tannahill for the second occasion since 1974 when their combined team with Vet Lab earned them the coveted trophy in awesome fashion.
Sigona had opened the first two rounds well and maintained a respectable placing to attain top honours in Tannahill for the first time in twenty-nine years.
Western Kenya chalked up 37 points to end their campaign in third overall position while Limuru who were well in contention on the last day yesterday dipped to fourth overall position. Last year, Limuru finished the event in third position.
Muthaiga’s captain, Henry Kiman attributed their comeback victory to cohesion and teamwork.
Sigona led the tournament on the first day, before surrendering the lead to Limuru after three rounds before recovering on the final day, but got caught by Muthaiga on the last day of thrilling event.
“On the penultimate day on Saturday we were a bit conservative to save on points but today (yesterday) we were just aggressive to win points so we were just attacking. When we started on Friday, we said we wanted to take the trophy back home and I am glad we did it for the fifth year running,” said Kimani.
Hosts Royal put up their worst in 40 years when they finished the event in unfamiliar 7th position. It was a bitter pill to for the hosts to swallow as the last time they won this tournament was in 2008.
Sigina and Muthaiga will share the trophy for 6 months each.
Sigona fielded MM Njoroge, George Mwaura, John Ndichu, Paul Kaguamba, Kabir Choda, Rajiv Shah, Deep Shah, A. Chandaria, Mohit Medirratta and Imraan Nanji.
Muthaiga’s team has the likes of Tanvir Sodi, Kavit Bhakoo, Neer Chandaria, John Gitonga, Bhavnish Chandaria, Rajesh Bhabra, Evans Vitisia, Kumar Dhall, Mwai Mbuthia and Ashwin Gidoomal.
In yesterday’s matches, Sigona blanked Windsor 8-0 and went on to defeat Mombasa 5-3.
Windsor found the going rough when Mombasa recovered to weallop them 0-8. Hosts Royal Nairobi defeated Limuru Country Club 6-2 while Muthaiga vanquished Limuru 8-0.
Muthaiga came out unscathed on the final day when they saw off Royal 6-2.
Karen lost 2-6 to Western Kenya while Railways beat Karen 6-2.  Western Kenya lost 5-3 to Railways in another match.
Royal Nairobi Chairman Zubin Parikh lauded the teams for incorporating juniors in their outfits. He thanked Kenya Golf Union (KGU) for supporting the tournament and added that it was exciting to see a record spectator turnout in this year’s event.
Royal’s Captain Jack Okuku was excited by the fact that teams played their hearts out and exhibited high standards of golfing.
“The going was really time and was determined at the very last minute. Limuru, Muthaiga and Sigona were all in contention going into the last day,” said Okuku. michael kors sac a dos michael kors sac a dos

Comments are closed.

 canada goose sale