Kenya Golf Guide

Members of the Muthaiga team celebrate after winning last year’s Tannahill Shield at Royal.


Golfers have a busy weekend as the 2013 edition of annual Tannahill Easter Tournament tees off at its traditional home –Royal Nairobi Golf Club- tomorrow.

With a new injection of sponsorship by Dasani, the organizers promise to have an even more vibrant and exciting Easter golfing treat for both players and spectators.
Royal captain, Jack Okuku, said: “With the ever growing stature of the event coupled with unique traditions and the increased impetus from the title sponsors (Dasani), we promise more exciting times both on and off the course.”

“We invite all golfers and spectators to come support their respective teams as they play for the Tannahill Shield 2013,” he said.

Coca-Cola, through the Dasani brand came on board as the title sponsors of the event with sponsorship package of Sh2.1 million.

Peter Njonjo, Coca-Cola General Manager for East Africa, reiterated their commitment towards the event.
“We are proud to be associated with Tannahill shield, Kenya’s most recognized amateur golf tournament,” said Njonjo during the launch of the event.

“I would like to wish all the participating players and teams all the very best in the Tannahill contest,” he added.

Tannahill Shield was inaugurated in February 1924 traditionally known as the “Easter Tournament”.

Amateur Players from selected clubs congregate in Nairobi to play for the Silver Shield – famously referred to as the Tannahill Shield since when it was presented by Mrs. Tannahill.

This was in recognition of the contribution made to the Royal Nairobi Golf Club by her late husband – Arthur Tannahil.

The Royal Nairobi golf Club has been the traditional home of the event.  Since its inception, participation is by the invitation of the Royal Nairobi Golf Club General Committee.

In initial years, five clubs (Kiambu, Mombasa, Muthaiga, Nakuru and Nyeri) were invited to send teams comprising eight members.

The number has since increased to nine clubs and the original format of foursomes match is still at play.

The participating teams in this year’s event are Windsor, Mombasa, Karen, Sigona, Western, Limuru, Muthaiga, Railways and the Host Club Royal Nairobi Golf Club.

The organizing committee has resisted many attempts over the years to convert it to a Ryder Cup style of singles, pairs and foursomes.

Taking a look at the past winners of the Tannahill Easter Tournament, in the early years Nairobi was virtually unbeatable, winning or tying in most events from 1924 to 1936.

Since the turn of the millennium, Muthaiga Golf Club has dominated the pole position – winning eight out of the past 10 events.

Dasani is the official sponsor of the Royal Nairobi Golf Club Team which comprises of: Jay Sandhu, Bo Ciera, Josiah Kogo, Eric Ooko Obura, Jatinder Thethy (captain), Jasseet Syan, Jonathan Chebukati, Quaram Bhatti, Joshua Ichangi and Peter Muigai Mburu.

Born in 1995 and playing off handicap eight, 17 year old Peter Muigai Mburu is the youngest player at the event. bracelet pandora bracelet pandora

Comments are closed.

 canada goose sale